Odisha Govt To Open 18 New Degree Colleges This Year, Says Minister

Bhubaneswar: Odisha government has decided to open 18 new degree colleges this year, said Higher Education Minister Atanu Sabyasachi Nayak on Sunday.

Speaking to media persons, the minister said the government took the decision on the basis of suggestions made by the people to 5T chairman VK Pandian during his visit to different areas. The new colleges will start functioning from this academic year, he added.

Nayak said in order to solve the faculty crisis in the colleges, as many as 1,056 lecturers will be appointed through Staff Selection Board in next one week. While 467 lecturers were appointed in 2022-23 academic year, 1,033 appointments were made in 2023-24, he added.

Stating that there are 1,040 degree colleges in the state now against 548 in 2000, he said the number of universities has also increased from 5 to 24. The total universities include 17 government and 7 private. Besides, 21 fundamental research centres for excellence have been opened in the state.

For the benefits of the students, smart classrooms and laboratories have been opened in the colleges. The government has also made provision of e-scholarship, Byasakabi Fakir Mohan Bhasabruti, Gopabandhu Siksha Sahayata Yojana and Kalinga Siksha Sathi for them.

The minister said several schemes including Biju Yuva Empowerment Yojana, Green Passage Yojana, free civil service coaching have been introduced for the students.

Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.

Comments are closed.