CEO Recommends Repolling In Another 10 Booths In Odisha

Bhubaneswar: Chief Electoral Officer (CEO) Surendra Kumar on Saturday said that he has recommended the Election Commission of India (ECI) for fresh polling in 10 booths, where voting was cancelled in the third-phase polls on April 23.

Briefing mediapersons here, the CEO said he wrote ECI on April 24 for fresh polling in these booths after a detailed review.

Mentioned below are the 10 booths where repolling has been recommended:

—Booth no-62, Gadibrahma Primary School, Baghamunda in Brahmagiri Assembly constituency
—Booth no-222, Kama Sasan in Brahmagiri Assembly constituency
—Booth no-90, Khuntakata Primary School, in Athagarh Assembly constituency
—Booth no-100, Satyabasudevpur UGME School in Athagarh Assembly constituency
—Booth no-137 and 138, Rajanagar UGME School in Athagarh Assembly constituency
—Booth no-196, Badama Assembly constituency
—Booth no-183, Siaria Primary School in Deogarh Assembly constituency
—Booth no-78, Balabhadrapur UP School, Birakishorepur in Satyabadi Assembly constituency
—Booth no-85, Jandabahal in Talcher Assembly constituency.

The CEO further said that two more booths, which reported irregularities, are being reviewed. “We will take a decision on these two booths after the review,” he added. The booths are 127-Saheed Nagar High School in Bhubaneswar-Central Assembly constituency and 171-Bhulanuagaon in Ghasipura Assembly constituency.

Asked whether the fresh polling in the 10 aforesaid booths will be held during the fourth-phase polls on April 29, he said voting will take place after the fourth-phase polls to ensure proper management and monitoring.

It may be mentioned that the repolling in nine booths was held on April 25 following reports on irregularities during the second-phase polls in the state on April 18.

Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.

Comments are closed.