Lok Sabha Polls In Odisha: The Winners & The Losers


Bhubaneswar: The BJD has won 12 out of 21 Lok Sabha seats in Odisha while the BJP improved its tally from one to eight this election. The Congress managed to open its account with one seat. It had drawn a blank last election with the BJD winning 20 seats and the BJP one.

Aska: Pramila Bisoyi, a name associated with the SHG movement in Odisha, defeated BJP’s Anita Subhadarshini, an associate professor with IGNOU in New Delhi, by a margin of 2,04,707 votes. Traditionally a Congress bastion till 1996, the BJD has been winning this seat for the last seven consecutive elections.

Balasore: BJP’s Pratap Chandra Sarangi wrested the seat from the BJD by defeating its party nominee Rabindra Kumar Jena by a margin of 12,956 votes.

Bargarh: BJD heavyweight and Rajya Sabha member Prasanna Acharya conceded defeat to the BJP’s Suresh Pujari by a margin of 63,939 votes.

Berhampur: BJD’s Chandrashekhar Sahu won this seat by defeating BJP’s Bhrugu Baxipatra by a margin of 94,844 votes.

Bhadrak: BJD’s Manjulata Mandal defeated BJP’s Avimanyu Sethi by a margin of 28,803 votes.

Bhubaneswar: BJP’s Aparajita Sarangi won this battle of ex-bureaucrats by defeating former Mumbai police chief Arup Patnaik by a margin of 23,839 votes.

Balangir: BJP’s Sangeeta Kumari Singhdeo wrested this seat from the BJD by defeating another royal scion, Kalikesh Singhdeo, by a margin of 19,516 votes.

Cuttack: BJD’s Bhartruhari Mahtab retained his seat by defeating BJP nominee and former Odisha DGP Prakash Mishra by a margin of 1,21,201 votes.

Dhenkanal: BJD’s Mahesh Sahoo defeated BJP’s Rudra Narayan Pany by a margin of 35,412 votes.

Jagatsinghpur: BJD’s Rajashree Mallick defeated Bibhu Prasad Tarai by a margin of 2,71,655 votes.

Jajpur: BJD’s Sarmistha Sethi defeated BJP’s Amiya Kant Mallick by a margin of 1,01,693 votes. The regional party has retained this seat earlier won by party nominee Rita Tarai.

Kalahandi: BJP’s Odisha president Basanta Kumar Panda wrested this seat from the BJD by defeating Puspendra Singh Deo by a margin of 26,814 votes.

Kandhamal: Achyutananda Samanta retained the seat for the BJD by defeating Kharbela Swain by a margin of 1,49,216 votes.

Kendrapara: This seat had become a prestige issue for both the BJD and the BJP. Despite making his best efforts, BJP’s Baijayant Panda failed to retain this seat and lost to Anubhav Mohanty of the BJD by a margin of 1,52,584.

Keonjhar: Chandrani Murmu of the BJD won this seat by defeating BJP nominee Ananta Nayak by a margin of 66,203 votes.

Koraput: Congress’ Saptagiri Sankar Ulaka wrested the seat from the BJD by defeating Kausalya Hikaka by a narrow margin of 3,613 votes. This is the lone seat that the grand old party won this election.

Mayurbhanj: After an initial lead, BJD’s Debashish Marndi lost the seat to the BJP’s Bishweswar Tudu by a margin of 25,256. This seat was earlier held by the BJD.

Nabarangpur: BJD’s Ramesh Chandra Majhi defeated Pradeep Majhi of the Congress by a margin of 41,634 votes.

Puri: In this mother of all battles, BJD’s Pinaki Mishra emerged triumphant but the winning margin was reduced to 11,714. He had won this seat in 2014 by a margin of 2,63,361 votes. The five-time MP defeated the BJP’s Sambit Patra.

Sambalpur: BJP’s Nitesh Ganga Deb defeated BJD nominee and former Works Secretary Nalini Kanta Pradhan by a margin of 9,162 votes.

Sundargarh: Union Minister and BJP candidate Jual Oram improved his victory margin from 18,829 votes in 2014 to 2,23,065 votes in 2019. He defeated the BJD’s Sunita Biswal, daughter of former chief minister and Congress leader Hemananda Biswal.

Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.